Make-up Brushes 101 | Part 1

Informative



Hii my beauties !!

Today I will give you the 101 on make-up brushes.

Nowadays going to a store and buying makeup brushes is a very intimidating experience, because there thousands of brush options from many brands and in many types. So when choosing exactly what you want can be a bit difficult, especially if you are just starting your make-up kit.

First of all, we should know that make-up brushes can be used in any way you feel comfortable, even if the brush is named an eyeshadow brush you can use it in any way you wish, because it depends more on what can it help you achieve. Even I do so. I will tell you which ones I use, and for what.

I am going to divide this post in two parts, because it is going to be very extent, and I don’t want to tire you guys out!!!

I am going to talk about Face Brushes today.

  1. FOUNDATION: For the foundation I vary in between these two brushes and the sponge. When I am looking for a light cover I go for the sponge, and when I want to go for the full cover I go for these brushes.

DSCN0647

(Morphe G6; Teardrop shaped sponge;  Bh Cosmetics Pop Art Brush set, nº 1 brush)

 2. CONCEALER: For concealer I like to use the eyeshadow brush from the UD’s Naked palette brush. I don’t like the normal concealer brush because it leaves the concealer a bit streaky. I like the dense side of the Naked brush. But sometimes I use the sponge too.

 DSCN0648

(UD’s Naked Palette’s Eyeshadow brush)

3. POWDER:

   3.1 FULL FACE: For the powder application I use the standard powder brush. It’s the best for the powder application.

 DSCN0649

(I don’t know the brand; Bh Cosmetic’s Red Leopard brush set, powder brush;
Bh Cosmetic’s Pink a dot brush set, nº 10 brush)

   3.2 UNDER EYE: To set the under eyes I usually use the dome shaped ones, to apply and to remove the powder. But when I want to do the baking method I usually use a wet flat foundation brush.

DSCN0651

(Bh Cosmetics Pop Art Brush set, nº 3 brush; Bh Cosmetic’s Pink a dot brush set, nº 8)

DSCN0652

(Bh Cosmetic’s Red Leopard brush set, dome brush; Morphe G3)

4. CONTOUR: I sometimes do cream and powder contour and other times I just do the powder contour.

  • While applying the cream contour I like to use the 2nd brush, it makes a very defined line. To blend the cream contour I use the 4th brush, because it is a bit more dense so it helps blend the cream easier.
  • To apply the powder contour I use the 3rd brush because it’s narrow, so it helps apply the powder to the exact area and to blend it away I use the 1st one, because it’s fluffier so it blends away really well.

DSCN0654

(Bh Cosmetic’s Red Leopard brush set, contour brush; Morphe G30;
Smashbox contour brush that comes in the contour palette; Morphe G3)


  • To contour my nose (cream and powder) I use a fluffy angled brush. This brush allows me to contour my nose with more precision, and since it’s fluffy, it blends it away well too.

DSCN0663

(Bh Cosmetics Pop Art Brush set, nº 7 brush)

5. BLUSH: To apply blush I like to use the angled brushes. A narrow one to apply it and a denser one to blend it away.

DSCN0659

(Bh Cosmetics Pop Art Brush set, nº 2 brush;
Bh Cosmetic’s Pink a dot brush set, nº 9 brush)

6. HIGHLIGHTER: Depending on the effect that I am trying to achieve I use these brushes for highlight. I use the first two one to get an intense yet diffused glowy effect, I use the 3rd one to get the highlighter more concentrated on the cheek bone and the last one to get a very light highlighted look.

DSCN0657

(Bh Cosmetic’s Pink a dot brush set, nº 11 brush; Morphe M509;
Bh Cosmetics Pop Art Brush set, nº 4 brush; Make B Fan brush)


7. BLENDING: When I finish applying my makeup, I like to blend everything together so it looks more even.

DSCN0660

(Cala Stippling brush; Bh Cosmetic’s Red Leopard brush set, blending brush)

So these are the brushes I use to apply my face make-up. I hope this was helpful to you! On my next post I will talk about the eye and eyebrow brushes, and explain which I use to do what.

Hope you enjoyed it !!

Have a great Thursday 😀 !!

Leave a Reply

